A project by

Empowering Differences

Helena Kontoudakis & France-Elena Damian

Workshop:

Intersectionality in your own work

There is no hierarchy of oppression and the strategy of divide and conquer will not be overcome as long as we do not perceive our differences, do not celebrate them and do not use them for our mutual development and empowerment, as Audre Lorde points out in one of her essays. In the present time, in which everything possible is used to divide and set people against each other, it is important to overcome the limits of our own world of experience. Intersectionality enables us to do just that: to take different perspectives or even to perceive them at all and to put them in relation to our own. In this workshop we will therefore deal with intersectionality as a concept for sensitizing for empowering differences. Under the motto “Check your privilege!” we will collect levels of discrimination and privilege. Afterwards we will discuss together how we can integrate the knowledge about intersectionality into our appearance, our working methods and our attitude and thus overcome the existing system. We explicitly point out that we are not experts in this field, but want to set out on a path together to share experiences, knowledge, strength and challenges.

Accessibility

We strive to make the event as barrier-free as possible so that blind, deaf and mobility-impaired people can participate and share their impressions with us.

Helena Kontoudakis is a Greek-Swiss director with German-Jewish and Asia Minor roots. Even before studying directing at the Basel School of Acting, she began staging self-written texts in search of new narratives. She is an honorary member of the board of the Pro Quote Bühne association and is committed to equal representation of all artistic departments in the performing arts. Her current project STÜCK FLEISCH (Piece of Meat), as a future myth, is intended to promote the empowerment of talented womyn in the performing arts, both conceptually and in terms of content.

France-Elena Damian, born in 1977 in Brasov (Romania), grew up as the child of two ballet dancers in theaters and variety shows. She attended the “George Enescu” Ballet Academy in Bucharest until 1987, when her parents fled to Germany. In Berlin she studied directing at the “Ernst Busch” Academy of Dramatic Arts. She directs throughout Germany, including at the Sophiensaele Berlin, the Schauspiel Magdeburg, the Landestheater Schwerin and Coburg, the Staatstheater Darmstadt, the Heimathafen Neukölln and in New York. She is a board member and co-founder of the association Pro Quote Bühne and has been part of the artistic management team of tak – Theater Aufbau Kreuzberg since January 2018.

  • Datum: Saturday, September 26th, 2020
  • Zeit: 10:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.
  • Ort: protagon Kulturgelände, Orber Str. 57, 60386 Frankfurt
  • Gebühr: 30 €
  • Teilnehmer*innen: max. 20
  • Sprachen: English and German
  • Zielgruppe: We offer workshops for all genders.
  • Website: https://www.proquote-buehne.de/

Date

Sep 26 2020
Expired!

Time

10:00 - 13:00

Cost

$30.00

More Info

Read More

Location

protagon Kulturgelände
Category
Read More
No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Organizers

Sponsored by

Partners

Ein Projekt von

Empowering Differences

Helena Kontoudakis & France-Elena Damian

Workshop:

Intersektionalität in der eigenen Arbeit

Wie Audre Lorde in einem ihrer Essays darlegt: Es gibt keine Hierarchie der Unterdrückung und die Strategie des Teilens und Herrschens wird so lange nicht überwunden werden, wie wir unsere Unterschiede nicht wahrnehmen, sie nicht feiern und sie nicht zu unserer gegenseitigen (Weiter-)Entwicklung und unserem Empowerment nutzen. In der jetzigen Zeit, in der alles Mögliche dazu verwendet wird, zu spalten und Menschen gegeneinander aufzuhetzen, ist es wichtig, die Grenzen der eigenen Erfahrungswelt zu überwinden. Intersektionalität ermöglicht uns genau das: verschiedene Perspektiven einzunehmen bzw. überhaupt wahrzunehmen und sie in Relation zu unseren eigenen zu setzen. Im Workshop wollen wir uns daher mit Intersektionalität als Konzept zur Sensibilisierung für bestärkende Unterschiede (empowering differences) auseinandersetzen. Unter dem Motto „Check your privilege!“ werden wir Ebenen von Diskriminierung und Privilegierung zusammen tragen. Danach besprechen wir gemeinsam, wie wir das Wissen über Intersektionalität in unser Auftreten, unsere Arbeitsweisen und unsere Haltung integrieren und dadurch das bestehende System überwinden können. Wir weisen explizit darauf hin, dass wir keine Expertinnen auf diesem Gebiet sind, sondern uns gemeinsam auf den Weg begeben wollen, um Erfahrungen, Wissen, Kraft und Herausforderungen miteinander zu teilen.

Barrierefreiheit
Wir bemühen uns um eine möglichst barrierefreie Umsetzung, sodass u.a. auch blinde, taube und in ihrer Mobilität eingeschränkte Mitmenschen teilnehmen und ihre Eindrücke mit uns teilen können.

Helena Kontoudakis ist eine griechisch-schweizerische Regisseurin mit deutsch-jüdischen und kleinasiatischen Wurzeln. Schon vor ihrem Regiestudium an der Schauspielschule Basel hat sie auf der Suche nach neuen Narrativen damit begonnen, selbst geschriebene Texte zu inszenieren. Sie engagiert sich ehrenamtlich im Vorstand des Vereins Pro Quote Bühne und setzt sich für eine paritätische Besetzung aller künstlerischen Ressorts in den Darstellenden Künsten ein. Ihr aktuelles Projekt STÜCK FLEISCH soll als Zukunftsmythos konzeptionell und inhaltlich das Empowerment von talentierten Frauen* in der darstellenden Kunst fördern.

France-Elena Damian, geboren 1977 in Brasov (Rumänien), wuchs als Kind zweier Balletttänzer in Theatern und Varietéshows auf. Sie besuchte bis 1987 die Ballettakademie „George Enescu“ in Bukarest, dann flohen ihre Eltern nach Deutschland. In Berlin studierte sie Regie an der Hochschule für Schauspielkunst „Ernst Busch“. Sie inszeniert deutschlandweit u.a. in den Sophiensaelen Berlin, am Schauspiel Magdeburg, an den Landestheatern Schwerin und Coburg, am Staatstheater Darmstadt, am Heimathafen Neukölln und in New York. Sie ist Vorstandsmitglied und Mitbegründerin des Vereins Pro Quote Bühne und gehört seit Januar 2018 zum künstlerischen Leitungsteam des tak – Theater Aufbau Kreuzberg.

  • Datum: Samstag, 26. September 2020
  • Zeit: 10:00 – 13:00 Uhr
  • Ort: protagon Kulturgelände, Orber Str. 57, 60386 Frankfurt
  • Gebühr: 30 €
  • Teilnehmer*innen: max. 20
  • Sprachen: Deutsch und Englisch
  • Zielgruppe: Wir bieten Workshops für alle Geschlechter an.
  • Website: https://www.proquote-buehne.de/
  • 00

    Tage

  • 00

    Stunden

  • 00

    Minuten

  • 00

    Sekunden

Datum

Sep 26 2020

Uhrzeit

10:00 - 13:00

Kosten

30.00

Mehr Info

Weiterlesen

Veranstaltungsort

protagon Kulturgelände
Orber Str. 57, 60386 Frankfurt am Main
Kategorie
REGISTRIEREN
Keine Kommentare vorhanden

Sorry, die Kommentare sind im Moment geschlossen.